The members of Paramore have done a lot of growing up. After all, a lot has changed since they first debuted as teenagers in 2005. Fast-forward to 2013, the band members are all in their early twenties and as they mature, so do their musical styling.

After about a 4-year hiatus from the music scene and a very public split from 2 of the founding members of the band, the Tennessee natives are back with a self-titled album that sounds slightly different, probably due to the fact that it’s the first one released without the Farro brothers, Josh and Zac. Still, the album packs a massive punch with 17 tracks that last for slightly over an hour.

Paramore sees the band depart from their usual lyrics filled with teenage angst to lyrics about long-lasting relationships and growing up. Their latest and fourth offering starts off with “Fast In My Car”, a quick tempo track with all the elements of a loud drum beat dirty guitar riffs and finally, a dash of synth swirls fitted nicely into just over 3 ½ minutes.

Immediately, “Fast In My Car” sets the tone for the entire album and paints a picture of what we can expect for the other 16 tracks.

With Paramore, it has to be said that the chemistry between the 3 remaining members is impeccable. As usual, lead-singer Hayley Williams’ vocal work is flawless as she switches between keys in their first single, “Now”, but that really is old news. This time round, all the focus really seems to be placed on bassist Jeremy Davis and guitarist Taylor York as they showcase their prodigious skills .It also has to be said that the drumming sounds is a lot more ruthless as compared to what Zac Farro once did. It’s a nice refreshing change. Some good examples are “Anklebiters” and “Proof”.

In the epic piece that is “Part II”, a follow-up to their song “Let The Flames Begin” from their second albumRiot!you’ll be transported to drumming nirvana with guitar and drum solos halfway through. This is all thanks to Nine Inch Nails drummer, Ilan Rubin, who lends his expertise on the entire album.

Even though Paramore has matured, they still possess that playful charm that fans have grown to love. In the infectious “Ain’t It Fun”, gospel singers who continuously repeat the hook, “No more crying to your momma”, add that taunting effect to Williams as she sings about growing up and living in the real world.

The grand 8-minute long number “Future”, starts out slow before catapulting into a full-blown aggressive instrumental track. The build up to the crescendo makes fans anxiously anticipate for a change in the tempo. “Future” ends the album aptly, leaving fans to expect more from the band.

Overall, Paramore is an album with 14 actual songs held together by three ukulele-led intros that Williams has described as being the “remedy to counter writing blocks”. Ultimately, Paramore is an ambitious effort. However, it might have been better without the intros seeing as they may come across as irrelevant to the listeners. Another track that could have been taken out would be “(One Of Those) Crazy Girls”. Repetitive, the song is becomes slightly annoying after a while.


Album Details:

Artiste: Paramore

Album: Paramore

Rating: 4/5

Language: English

Genre: Alternative Rock/ Pop Rock/ Power Pop/ Pop Punk

Record Label: Atlantic

Release Date: Apr 9, 2013.


Track list:

1. Fast In My Car
2. Now
3. Grow Up
4. Daydreaming
5. Interlude: Moving On
6. Ain’t It Fun
7. Part II
8. Last Hope
9. Still Into You
10. Anklebiters
11. Interlude: Holiday
12. Proof
13. Hate To See Your Heart Break
14. (One Of Those) Crazy Girls
15. Interlude: I’m Not Angry Anymore
16. Be Alone
17. Future